The Freedom to be a Moron

One of the many beautiful things about living in America is the right to your opinion. Yes, I know political correctness abounds and there are those who wish to squelch other’s free speech, but for today anyway, we still enjoy an immense ability to think, say and write what we want.

With that in mind, I can’t really get too angry about Colin Kapernick’s being offended by the Betsy Ross Flag , nor Nike’s epic fail of actually taking his words to heart and pulling their new shoe which has her flag stitched on the heel.

I do wonder though if Kapernick spoke out during Barack Obama’s first inauguration during which Betsy Ross flags were on prominent display.  I somehow doubt it.  Perhaps he was not “woke” enough back then.

BR Flag Inauguration

Barack Obama Inauguration-Photo Credit: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Betsy_Ross_flag

 

This is America folks where people have the freedom to act like morons and we get the pleasure of ignoring them and buying shoes/attire elsewhere.  That’s how it works and I wouldn’t have it any other way-God bless the good ole USA!

Happy Independence Day!

For some interesting history on the Betsy Ross flag go here.

This entry was posted in Free speech, Funny, Political, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Freedom to be a Moron

  1. Happy Independence Day, Tricia!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Doug says:

    I find myself completely in agreement here, Julie.
    I was apparently was a bit more incensed with this stuff and recently posted this…
    https://findingpoliticalsanity.com/reparations-and-now-displaying-the-besty-ross-flag-invokes-reminders-of-slavery/

    Have a good Fourth!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Doug says:

    I find myself completely in agreement here, Julie.
    I apparently was a bit more incensed with this stuff and recently posted this…
    https://findingpoliticalsanity.com/reparations-and-now-displaying-the-besty-ross-flag-invokes-reminders-of-slavery/

    Have a good Fourth!

    Like

  4. Doug says:

    Ooops.. crappy net connection duplicated my reply. Sorry.

    Like

  5. Doug says:

    Oh good lord.. how did I get that wrong. I was somewhere else reading and the name stuck. That’s one of those embarrassing guy things when you are with a girl and mumble the wrong name. 🙂 Oh.. wait…. I can blame this crappy internet connection! Think of it this way.. I got the gender correct. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Doug says:

    Searles Valley, CA.. NW San Bern County

    Liked by 1 person

  7. madblog says:

    Happy 4th of July, Tricia. Well said. My 2 cents is that we as a nation have paid for the injustice of slavery with the lives of about 600,000 men. We righted that wrong and that book is closed. You may make a case for our guilt over the continuance of bigotry and discrimination, but we are free and clear of the guilt of slavery. What other nation has a condemnation of that institution which is as decisive?

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Al says:

    Good post, Tricia. Sometimes the best points are made with the fewest words. Happy 4th back to you.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Yep! Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should!

    What Makes America Great?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Independence Day Blogging Round Up | See, there's this thing called biology...

  11. Did you see what some of those “offensive” shoes are selling for in the internet now? (Yep, that’s America.) https://www.newsweek.com/900-betsy-ross-sneakers-listing-pulled-ebay-1447432

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I hope you had a super Independence day. It was sad to see Nike do this.

    Thanks for the great insight as always.

    Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Canuck Carl says:

    Sometimes I am not to well versed of what is happening in America (Canada has its’ own issues..lol) so I after reading your article I simple google “Betsy Ross flag controversary”. And I learned all about the Nike flag shoe and the emotion it evoked.

    Hope you are having a great summer Tricia! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tricia says:

      Yup America and Canada are both having some weird and unique issues Carl, for sure! 😉

      Summer is going well but I can’t believe it’s almost over. I hope you’re doing well too Carl. Sorry I haven’t dropped by your running blog in awhile, I’ve kind of backed off from the blogging world for a bit but I hope to be back soon.

      Liked by 1 person

Respectful comments always welcome.