The Will To Live

Does all life have value and purpose, even the not so shiny ones? I sure believe it does and so thankfully does Bill from Unshakable Hope, who writes the most inspiring and thought provoking posts from the perspective of a devout Christian and long term ALS suffer. Give it a read, it’s well worth your time.

Unshakable Hope

I almost made it through a whole year without being hospitalized or having any additional health problems. Almost. Then, with just a few days left in 2016, I caught a cold. The β€œcommoncold” is not much more than an annoyance for otherwise healthy people, but for someone like me with weakened breathing muscles and only 30% of my lungs functioning, the common cold is much more than an annoyance.

On the morning of the last day of the year, I was having an extremely difficult time breathing even wearing my breathing mask. In addition to that, I couldn’t keep anything down. I was a mess, more than usual. Mary and I both assumed it was pneumonia again so she called 911 and within minutes we were in an ambulance en route to the hospital. ALS has brought us one adventure after another over the last 20 years.

View original post 722 more words

This entry was posted in Personal growth, Spiritual, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Will To Live

  1. I have a difficult time with real life situations/stories like this. I admire and respect the persistence and will for life that Bill has found in his faith. I admire his courage and desire to share his trials and tribulations to help his fellow man who will shortly be diagnosed with this difficult disease. The difficulty I face comes from those who judge this man’s existence. Those who recklessly speak out without compassion and empathy and make comments such as, “oh if that was me, just go ahead and pull the plug.” These are the same people who often take life for granted and live as “cannibals” off the hard work and ongoing effort of others. These are the same people who say, “this just goes to prove taking responsibility for your health just doesn’t matter because life is all about “LUCK.”

    Bill has probably given and received more from life to this point than most people experience over an entire lifetime. Losing sight of this reality does Bill a tremendous disservice. I know it is not our place to question why, but the human flaw in me seeks answers anyway.

    I try to teach people how to improve their chances for better health and quality living and these efforts are frequently met with great resistance. Here is a man that would likely sacrifice much just to have the opportunity to follow my advice. Here is a man with a life threatening condition that shares his blessings with all of us while so many people without any current limitations live day to day complaining about the world they live in.

    I find myself needing to side step these situations to avoid getting “pulled in” to disharmony and other forms of negativity. Ultimately, I come to realize those with the greatest handicaps in life often impose them on themselves.

    Thank you for sharing this amazing post. I hope many people consider reflecting on their own life after reading this to determine if the current path they’re following is truly the righteous path.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Tricia says:

      Thank you for your words here Jonathan as they add some great context to what this post is all about. I too get angry when I hear the “just pull the plug on me” statements, as it reflects a deeply flawed misunderstanding of humanity and the individual value each of us brings to the table. And to be 100% honest, I’ve said the same thing myself during careless moments. People like Bill remind me why its so important to never take life and all we have for granted and that even (especially?) our weaknesses have purpose and it’s our responsibility to deal with them, learn and teach others.

      Liked by 3 people

  2. Wally Fry says:

    Good share, Tricia, thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ColorStorm says:

    He is awesome Trish; been following for some time, and knowing the context of his writing makes it even more valuable.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Canuck Carl says:

    This is such a powerful post Tricia. I was extremely moved by Bill’s words of strength, conviction and conscience on such a controversial topic now brewing in Canada. He was giving me goosebumps (in a positive way).

    He voice was an encouragement to me in my Pastor role. Thank you Tricia! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tricia says:

      Hey Carl, I felt the same way, in fact I am extremely moved by all of Bill’s posts and hope he continues to make them for quite some time. Euthanasia is a very controversial subject and I fear the world is rapidly headed in the wrong direction all in the name of “compassion.”

      Thanks so much for coming by Carl, it’s always great to hear from you. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Respectful comments always welcome.

