Home is Where the Paper Plates Are

home-7

It is a plain and simple fact that my house will never be mistaken for Martha Stewart’s.  My wall art comes from the Internet, my room “themes” are determined by fit and affordability and the thought of a DIY embroidering project makes me break out in hives. Oh and things are a little messy at times too.  No, my house is not designer ready, but I’ve done my best to make it a home that welcomes.

Sharing a meal at my place can be entertaining, as its mid century “charm” lacks modern day niceties like a dishwasher and garbage disposal. This means paper/plastic dining ware is the norm, although on special occasions I may upgrade to the kind that looks real but can still be thrown away. home-pick-5-table

Spacing is an issue too, so if we are eating inside, sitting at the far end of the table means you’ll have to crawl underneath it if you need to get up. Also, don’t go in rooms with closed doors, as all the little clutter piles normally dispersed throughout the house have been shoved there. If you enter anyway, I can’t be held responsible if you go missing for an extended period of time.

I used to worry about stuff like this, so much so that it really stressed me out to have company, so I rarely did. How will people judge my house? Will they laugh that my floors are bare because I’m petrified of making a bad rug choice?  Will my kitchen be mocked because today’s dorm rooms are outfitted with finer appliances? Will they think I’m a slob because of the mildew stains on my shower door? And paper plates, really? WHAT WILL PEOPLE THINK OF ME?

My answer to all of that now is who cares!  I honestly don’t think any of my friends or family do and even if so, the point of any social gathering is to share an experience, whether in a fine Park Avenue mansion, or a humble home in the country. It’s the give and take of communicating with others, learning about their lives, laughing, crying and doing silly things together that counts.

My only resolution for 2017 is to engage more; more with others, more with myself, more with life in general. To not let convenience determine when to get together with loved ones, to talk to strangers while waiting in line instead of reaching for my phone, to reflect upon things during downtime instead of jumping on line.home-pic-3

Also, to have more gatherings at my place. I may not have fancy dishes to offer, nor have a clue what a table runner is, but I will provide a warm home and tasty meal to share. And laughs, lots and lots of laughs.

From my family to yours, Happy New Year!

home-pic-4-family

 

 

This entry was posted in Personal growth, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Home is Where the Paper Plates Are

  1. Al says:

    What a funny and heartwarming post. I love your humorous side, Tricia. You’ll be happy to note that we have the most eclectic house in Virginia Beach! If anything in here matches, it is totally by mistake. If there is a theme to it it, it’s the sand that we track in to each room after our beach walks! Would love to come to one of your parties and promise I won’t be judgmental, just please don’t put me at the far end of the table, I’m 6’5′ tall. I’m getting an open-ended plane ticket so just call…..

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Julie says:

    I have no doubt that the conversations around your table are splendid. Nice looking bunch you have there. Happy New Year to you all!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wally Fry says:

    Thanks for sharing your life Tricia.Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ColorStorm says:

    Considering your Martha Stewart idea, and remembering the words of the Lord: ‘Martha Martha…………..’ takes on a whole new meaning, and you have touched on some of it here.

    I think I saw a brother in that pic. 😉

    And you are right about the laughter thing. Things do not have to be ‘funny’ to laugh. Heck, just look at the animal kingdom to know God has a sense of humor. And I still say that wry smile of the turtle is on to something….

    A home is so much more than the walls keeping out the rain, eh T, and you have said it well. All the best in -17, and here’s to laughter.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Reblogged this on Talmidimblogging and commented:
    Happy New Year!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Living life under “your terms.” Now there’s an approach that will likely reduce stress and increase personal satisfaction. Something more of us should SERIOUSLY consider!
    Wishing you a very Happy New Year.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Happy New Year! I really appreciate this post, “to engage more in 2017,” what a great idea! Me too, I must drag myself out and engage more!

    It really is the heart of a home that matters, and the spirit of the hostess, not the accessories and the trappings. I am often in the position of cleaning and preparing someone’s fancy entertainment event and it’s cold, sterile, but the surroundings are beautiful, elegant. People call attending these events, “obligations, responsibilities,” as if they are a chore. There is often great loneliness too, a lack of intimacy, and a great deal of alcohol just to, “get you through the evening.” It’s very sad sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tricia says:

      Thanks IB and Happy New Year to you too! I appreciate your thoughtful comment and your perspective from seeing the “other side” of those fancy events. I’ve seen that loneliness too, it is very sad indeed.

      All the best for 2017.

      Like

  8. madblog says:

    Do you live in my house? Same! Although on important holidays I do go for our mismatched, chipped stained ceramic plates. Our house is forever in a state of shabby-chic(?) and much-needed repair.
    My husband has always been my source of encouragement here: “You’re giving them free food! Relax!”

    Liked by 1 person

  9. They all look so happy! I totally get the post bc I’ve started hosting again (a lo-o-o-ot of work). AND…welcome to the club: the “thought of a DIY embroidering project makes me break out in hives”. Let us not think about this before they arrive or they shall turn around and leave! It is so easy to stay individual, each family doing its own thing. Love and life take on a whole other plane with good food and good company.

    Like

Respectful comments always welcome.

