No Mere Words

“Fear not, for I am with you;
Be not dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you,
Yes, I will help you,
I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”

-Isaiah 41:10

Isn’t it awesome that no matter our situation, we can always turn to God for guidance and comfort?   And that to make things so easy peesy He left a big book of promises behind to help us?  I sure think so.

Words can have enormous power and whether they lift up or tear down depends on the source.  God’s words alway bring light and life, always bring hope.

It’s impossible to go through life and not be afraid.  I seem to have made a career out of it at times, but the more I get to know God, the better I feel about letting go of things I can’t control. God’s promises have power and if that’s all we have to hold on to, well than that’s enough for me.

“For I, the Lord you God, will hold your right hand;  Saying to you, Fear not, I will help you.”

-Isaiah 41:13

JesusandMary

This entry was posted in Personal growth, Spiritual, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to No Mere Words

  1. Be blessed. God is with you.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. When I refer to a healthy lifestyle in my writing I typically use the word BALANCE. This is followed by physical, mental, emotional (and for those who believe) spiritual. The more tools we have in our arsenal the better our chances for living a life we choose. Having God in one’s corner seems like a pretty powerful tool. I share in your spiritual belief and encourage others to seek it out and benefit from the experience.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Amen! Faith and fear are kind of opposites, they cannot co exist at the same time. It’s interesting but both faith and fear usually exist in the future, they are unknowns that haven’t happened yet. Generally we fear and worry about outcomes that haven’t even occurred yet, that may never occur. It is a bit crazy and God reminds us, “does worry add even one day to your life?” I suspect not, since the toll it takes on our health probably outweighs the benefit of being prepared for the worst all of the time.

    God’s promises really do have power and He is so faithful 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Tricia says:

      I worry about stuff that has not happened and more than likely will never happen all the time. It’s a form f torture really until God reminds me how silly it all is, Love what you say about faith and fear being opposites, so very true!

      Liked by 2 people

  4. I think we are like wild animals who run in fear if they are approached by someone or something unknown.

    And God will keep his distance as long as we are afraid because he probably doesn’t want to scare us to death any further than we already are.

    I gentled a feral dog over a period of years and he eventually got to where he would come and sit beside me.

    But he would never let me touch him.

    I wonder if that was one of those God lessons.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. ColorStorm says:

    I will strengthen.
    I will help you.
    I will uphold you…

    What you shared a bit ago gives these words power yes? So then yes as you say, ‘no mere words.’ Nope they are not. We have no mere God either.

    There is an old hymn trish that speaks to your last line here about upholding, ‘He will hold you fast.’ Love the words. Continued blessings during what is probably a bit of a fiery trial.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ganesan Visvanathan says:

    GOD is in you….. in every goodness you perform …… in every good deeds….
    Thanks for sharing….

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: One of My Favorite Blogs – The Praetorian Writers Group

Respectful comments always welcome.

