Trapped in Your Own Mind

Bird2

I had an unexpected visit from a hummingbird, who was waiting for me in the kitchen after I returned from a walk. How he got inside is still a mystery but what was interesting was that he perched himself directly on top of a fake hummingbird I have that sits on my windowsill.

In a strange place with no obvious exit, the little guy instinctively gravitated towards the familiar, what he thought was his own kind. It was a mistake of course, as that plastic bird could offer no more help or comfort than the toy car next to it, but a panicky desire for self-preservation drove the hummingbird towards an illusion of safety

Don’t we all do this at times? We find ourselves stuck in a bad situation we have no idea how to get out of and so we delude ourselves with “solutions” that feel safe but really offer nothing. It’s obvious to any outsider that we are not acting rationally, yet we continue to hold on tightly to this false sense of comfort and struggle mightily against anyone or thing that threatens it.

This came to mind as I executed my plan to free the now very terrified hummingbird from the confines of my kitchen. I grabbed a small Tupperware bow, which I had planned to cover him with and then slide a piece of cardboard underneath so I could walk him outside to freedom.

Well you know what they say about the best laid plan plans……as I stepped on a chair and lifted myself up, the poor bird freaked out and started flying violently in to the window, desperate to get out.Bird Scattered

I froze and held my breath as he eventually stopped fighting with himself and dropped behind the windowsill ledge; his wings cramped between glass and wood, making them unusable. Exhausted and now stuck beyond measure, the bird just looked at me and I swear sighed in exasperation.

Ok, maybe that was just me finally letting my breath out, but it seemed that bird realized he had no choice but to let me help him so I gently scooped him up with my hand. I cupped my other one on top and as we walked towards the back door I could feel his heart beating so fast I feared it would explode right there in my hand.

His mind though was resigned as he finally stopped struggling and just sat motionless in my hands as we headed outside. I opened them up and he glanced at me before flying madly in to the air. In a split second he was gone.

Like that hummingbird, we all need others to help us at times, that’s just a fact. This can be very difficult for someone like me to accept, as self-reliance has always been a part of who I am and giving up control does not come easily. It quite often takes being forced between a rock and hard place for me to realize how helpless I am before reaching out.

I never regret doing so though and it’s always amazing when a friend gently shows an obvious truth to me. Something I had not seen about myself and/or a situation and was never going to on my own.

Freedom comes from acceptance of circumstances and the ability to let go of false narratives that are only making things worse. If you find yourself in a tough spot, start by kicking pride to the curb and inviting humbleness in. This will allow you to open up to counsel from wise and trusted loved ones who will show you a better path.

Dirty windows make for bad filters to see the world through, especially if you keep butting your head against them in hopes of a solution. Wiping the gunk away can offer much needed clarity to the outside world and on what needs to be done.

Speaking of dirty windows, it’s far past time to clean mine, at least in the kitchen!

 

 

This entry was posted in Personal growth, Uncategorized, Women's Empowerment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Trapped in Your Own Mind

  1. La Sabrosona says:

    Fantastic post. Beautiful message. Such a coincidence re: hummingbirds, as I was eyeing hummingbird feeders today and thought it’d be great to get one for the spring.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ah, lovely post! I too have had to try to free a hummingbird from the house. Kind of interesting, but they’re everywhere here, even though it’s rather cold outside. I’ve never seen so many in my life and have to fill the feeders up and actually thaw them out sometimes.

    I love your analogy about dirty windows and needing to ask for help, to rely on a fresh set of eyes when we get ourselves in a pickle. I cannot always see what might seem obvious to others and if I try to go it alone too much, I can get caught in my own traps.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tricia says:

      It’s funny IB as I’ve noticed a lot more of them around here too. Maybe another weird but pleasant side effect of El Nino, who knows!

      Yeah, “caught in my own traps” as you say trips me up too. Thanks for coming by.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad it didn’t explode in your hand! I don’t think we ever make wise choices panicking. Even at the cellular level we launch an avalanche of toxic neurological activity, feeding our own body poison when we get riled up, anxious, or angry. The rest, I couldn’t have said it better.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ColorStorm says:

    Loved reading this trish. Especially appreciated your thought of the wings being ‘useless.’ Quite a statement of that which gives the bird its identity, only to be so powerless.

    But that’s us right? When we are weak, we are strong, when we have exhausted ‘our’ strength, and you said it too.

    Always like a good bird tale. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tricia says:

      Well thanks CS. Ya know I hand’t thought about the bird’s wings being his identity but you are certainly right about that. We can feel so powerless when what we think makes us who we are is taken away only to find a much greater strength, eh?

      Yeah, can’t go wrong with a bird story. 😉

      Like

  5. Dennis says:

    Great post Tricia! Have had the same experience of “freeing” a hummingbird trapped between glass and blinds in my garage. Finally getting the little thing in a position to take flight and seeing it return to the air is a great feeling especially knowing you had a hand it setting it free.

    Much the same feeling can be experienced when you help someone free themselves from a bad situation. Some time all it takes is a look a hug or a more serious activity but the experience is well worth it to both parties.

    I think we all have had the experience of feeling trapped against the “glass” and appreciate real help to free us. Hopefully we navigate our lives so that we are not caught in that kind of situation again.

    No hummingbirds have entered my garage since that one incident and must be a conservative bunch. Now sparrows are another ilk all together as they routinely trap themselves between glass and blinds. They must be the liberal birds that continue making the same mistake and expecting a different outcome!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tricia says:

      Awww, such nice words Dennis and that’s cool you’ve done your own hummingbird saving, and true too that freeing a loved one from a stuck situation can be so gratifying. Allowing oneself to be freed too by another is an all together different but jus as satisfying experience.Dumb sparrows, kind of like dodo birds…;)

      Like

  6. Wally Fry says:

    What a great lesson you pulled out of that situation. Wow. Sometimes you do have to be beat down and exhausted before you can come to accept help…salvation…God’s hand plucking us out of our window pane. Thanks for this.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Vernon says:

    Poor bird.

    I know the feeling trying to chill with people who looks like you only to find out they are fake.

    The flight from reality will cause you to bump into the truth.

    The truth hurts. Och!

    When we let go of that false sense of comfort you mentioned it reveals our insecurities and cause us to panic like our little buddy did.

    But we can learn a lot from him…

    When we eliminate our false image of self and others we gain our rightfully freedom.

    Thanks for the powerful message.
    Vernon

    Like

  8. Pingback: My Article Read (2-14-2016) – My Daily Musing

  9. Citizen Tom says:

    Whenever I see a hummingbird, I never fail to be fascinated.

    The was a lucky little bird. If he had not trapped himself, I doubt you could have caught him.

    Great message!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Al says:

    Been down this road a few times myself. We occasionally get birds trapped in our sun room if we forget and leave the door open overnight. The dogs see them first in the morning, fluttering around. We lock the dogs up while I go out with a beach towel and throw it over the bird. Then I pick up the towel (very carefully) and take it outside to release the bird. Like you, I notice they hesitate for a moment as if to say thanks, and then off they go.

    You philosophical take on accepting help is right on the mark.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Chris Warren says:

    Oh I liked this one. One takeaway: We often don’t ask for help until we have beaten ourselves down trying to go it alone.

    Thanks for the great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: Migration, a story of two worlds and a play toy of the media | Marcus Ampe's Space

Respectful comments always welcome.

