Pear Harbor Must Not Be Forgotten

I thought this reblog was appropriate for today’s Pearl Harbor anniversary.

Freedom Through Empowerment

Omaha Beach

It’s difficult to fathom the horrific trauma that occurred when the Japanese attacked Pear Harbor and the huge significance of America entering WWII because of it.  9/11 is the only frame of reference for me and though there are many differences between the two, the one constant in my mind are the words, “Never Forget.”

They sound cliche those words, just something easy to say when anniversary dates of infamous  of tragic events come around.  Yet the importance that lies beneath the surface cannot be overstated.

Our world is dangerous and you can be sure there are people who this very minute are plotting ways to destroy us and the freedom centered values we hold dear.  Remembering this is essential to a future of victory and peace.  When our guard is down our enemies will strike.

I know nothing  about geopolitical strategies or military preparedness but I do know we must…

View original post 39 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pear Harbor Must Not Be Forgotten

  1. Al says:

    Great article as this event is near and dear to my heart. I don’t think you were a follower when I wrote a post that was a tribute to my father-in-law who was a hero there that day. It’s here if you would like to read it https://thecvillean.wordpress.com/2011/12/05/the-other-magellan/

    Good link to those pictures. Thanks for this post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tricia says:

      Holy cow Al, what a fabulous post! Wow, your father in law sounded like such a great man, not unusual at all for that generation during that time. Would you mind me linking to it in my post?

      I’ve been to Ford Island recently and know a lot of the areas you wrote about. Really neat to get that first hand perspective, thank you so much for the link!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Tricia says:

      Al, I have no idea what is going on but for some reason your comment and my response is showing up in a different version of this post. I don’t know how to fix this but wanted you to know that I didn’t delete your comment! Anyway, great link to your post, Included it in mine, hope you don’t mind 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Al says:

        Just more of that weird WordPress shenanigans I guess, Tricia. I got all your comments so no problem. Thanks for linking my post. It was quite emotional for my wife but she is glad I did it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Dennis says:

    Great post and links. Thanks Tricia for making them available.
    Some folks don’t know that every time a Navy ship enters or leaves Pearl Harbor and passes the Arizona all hands not need for the operation of the ship, go topside and stand at attention and render a hand salute. I have done it many times and each time I cannot help but feel that this show of respect is the very least the “Hero’s of Pearl Harbor” deserve. The first time I entered Pearl Harbor it brought home to me just how much of a target the ships were as they lay alongside the pier(s).
    I have read that the reason the Japanese did not invade the west coast was because they knew that American civilians both men and women and even some youngsters had guns and they did not want to fight every American. Sounds good to me. Another reason to arm yourself and learn firearm safety and protect yourself and the ones you love!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tricia says:

      That’s so cool Dennis about the sailors going topside to stand for attention in tribute to those Pearl Harbor heroes. I hope this is still being done.

      Oh, I have no doubt your story about the Japanese hesitance to invade America because of our guns is true. Our enemy may have been crazy but they certainly weren’t stupid!

      Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

      Like

Respectful comments always welcome.

