Bird Brain Reality

image photo

I’ve always been a bird person and find myself transfixed whenever I stop to watch them.   It could be an exotic toucan swooshing about the rain forest, a pink flamingo lazing in a lagoon, or just my local yard bird who likes to dive bomb my cat; the effect is the same, I’m left gob smacked by their beauty. Birds seem to live with such purpose, as God intended, which is maybe their secret sauce.

My all time favorite is the pelican, which around here run brown. There’s just Pelicans2something about this goofy, large billed bird with its floppy neck that’s endearing, especially when taking flight. When in flocks, pelicans fly in absolute synchronized perfection, floating just inches above the waves, each one anticipating and mirroring the moves of its partner. To see such large and otherwise awkward looking creatures perform with such grace takes your breath away. At least it does mine.

For a bird to survive, it must have mastered the wind. It doesn’t fight it or wish it away; it harnesses its energy to propel them along, accepting that where the wind sends them is where they are meant to go. A bird in motion like this seems to glide effortlessly and looks very content in its purpose. I thought about this while walking on the beach a day before a big storm was due to hit. No rain had come yet but the winds were gusty and you could see clouds being pushed in to a deepening dark gray mass up ahead. Many birds flew by and all of them were headed towards the storm, which I thought odd at first.Pelicans Of course it wasn’t strange at all to the birds. The wind was headed that way so that’s the way they went. They didn’t seem bothered by the pending doom they were flying in to, nor panicked and trying to find a different route. They were just going with the flow and seemed to be having a good bit of fun while doing it, letting the currents soar them up and down.

As the “duh” light bulb went off in my head I realized how much more difficult I make my life sometimes by fighting my own winds or denying they exist. If I’m in a situation I don’t particularly like, maybe dealing with a nightmare client or my housing situation which needs serious attention, my first instinct is to avoid thinking about it and hope things will just resolve themselves.

Or, I stew in negativity and make myself miserable wishing for a different reality; pushing hard against it instead of just accepting the situation and getting real about what needs to be done. Neither of these options, denial or defiance, are optimal because they limit my choices. When the brewing storm finally hits I’ll be in reactive mode and left flailing about in a highly charged emotional situation.

The better path would be to take that energy and use it like the birds do. Be real about the moment and what lays ahead and glide forward with purposeful grace, even if it means going directly in to the mess. Decisions can be made and emotions reckoned with that will make that moment less painful and perhaps open up new and better paths. And maybe, just maybe, have a little fun while doing it!

Yes, I envy the birds. beachbirds

This entry was posted in Personal growth, Random Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Bird Brain Reality

  1. La Sabrosona says:

    I’m a lot like you in that I “ignore” things for a little bit sometimes until I’m really forced to deal with it. It’s a real challenge “accepting” uncomfortable and unpleasant situations. Personally? Seagulls and Canadian Geese are really annoying. Pink Flamingo’s are super cool.
    Change is hard. Don’t be so hard on yourself! In order to change you will HAVE TO be uncomfortable though. That’s the sucky part. And when you’re ready you can be the “floppy necked, awkward, yet graceful pelican” you always wanted to be. Un abrazo enorme 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dennis says:

    Tricia I just don’t think of you as a person who dithers or worries over a problem. I think of you as the hawk that rides the thermals eying the problem below and then choosing the best solution and diving right in with the fix.
    Please don’t tell me I’m wrong!
    BTW digested duck goodies on the golf course do not mix well with players either.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Tricia says:

      Ok Dennis, I will continue the fantasy and agree whole heartedly with your description of me as a cunning and fearless hawk! On some very very good days I am, but on most, well, not so much. 😉 Bird poo on golf courses no good either.

      Like

  3. Isn’t it funny how difficult we make things for ourselves without even realizing it? And I’d have to say that 90% of that difficulty results from the negative way we think of a situation rather than the situation itself. And I say “90%” because it’s a really high number that sounds overwhelming. And I wanted that number to sound overwhelming to prove my point that how we think of something affects how overwhelming it feels to us. And I’m using the word “and” to start every sentence for some reason. I don’t know why.

    Anyway, good luck with what you’re facing in your life. I’m sure once you get through it, you’ll look back and say, “Well, that wasn’t so hard.” And if you ever need to talk with someone, I’d be glad to talk with you. Good luck again! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tricia says:

      I like your 90% number Gabriel and totally agree, so much of our problems are what we think about them, not the problems themselves. I’ll be fine but thanks for checking in…;)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful description of the birds and lovely reflection on the way we stumble through our path, T.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for sharing this Tricia. I love reading analogies about people’s lives and how they relate to God’s creation. I don’t think I have ever seen a pelican, even in real. Would love to see them in flight as you described.
    The God given instincts of birds always blow me away Tricia. The migratory birds are slowly returning to my area in Canada from their winter destinations of the southern states, Mexico and Central and South America. Love seeing their return. Such grit and determination to keep going until they reach their destination.
    Thank you for sharing! 🙂
    ~Carl~

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tricia says:

      Well,thanks Carl again for your kind and thoughtful comment. I can tell you are a fellow bird lover! I bet the birds migrating there in Canada are stunning, lots of geese I imagine. Pelicans truly are amazing birds, I hope you get to see them in flight so,e day. I’m in Maui right now, at this very minute drinking tea outside in listening to all the amazing bird sounds as they get ready for night. Thanks again for stopping by. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wow, Maui, so beautiful. Was there 10 years ago and loved it. Am more of a “rough and tumble” traveller myself. Stayed at a hostel, and did a lot of hiking. Can picture the sounds of the birds. Very happy for you Tricia. Yes, I am a fellow bird lover. 🙂
        Yes, we have a lot of geese here. Many nest in the area. There is a pond a couple of blocks away, and in a few weeks the baby goslings will be out and about! 🙂
        God bless and have a great day! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: It’s All So Utterly Unbelievable, Isn’t It? | Freedom Through Empowerment

Respectful comments always welcome.

